Handling Apples

Apple Facts Healthful
Children's Activities
Varieties in NC Why NC apples? Apple

Apples are produced in five areas of the state and are identified as follows: Haywood Area: Haywood, Jackson, and Macon counties. Henderson Area: Buncombe, Henderson, Polk and Rutherford counties. Mt. Mitchell Area: Avery, McDowell, Mitchell, Watauga, and Yancey counties. Northwest Area: Alexander, Ashe, Stokes, Surry, Wilkes, and Yadkin counties. South Mountain Area: Burke, Catawba, Cleveland, Gaston, and Lincoln counties.

Search for Apple Farms at NC Farm Fresh
Grower, Shipper, Packer information - NC Fresh Link Directory

Grown since ancient times, experts can only estimate the number of varieties that have existed (anywhere from 5,000 to 20,000). Early American colonists are responsible for developing quite a few different types of apples. The four major varieties which make up the bulk of North Carolina's production are Red Delicious, Golden Delicious, Rome, and Stayman. Over 40 other varieties are grown on a limited basis. These include new cosmopolitan varieties such as Empire, Fuji, Gala, Ginger Gold, Jonagold, and Mutzu. Antique varieties such as Arkansas Black, Grimes, Limber Twig, Virginia Beauty, and Wolf River are still available at road-side stands throughout the area.


© NC Apple Growers Association 2014
Enjoy NC apples
Got to Be NC